Alterations Needed Forum - Petite Fashion, Style, and Fit

Smartfeed Smartfeed    It is currently Thu Apr 24, 2014 7:20 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Help! Dancer's legs.
PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2012 2:58 am 

Hi everyone,

I have been dancing for 14 years now (I'm 17), and over time and improvement, I've noticed that I have developed what people call "dancer's legs", or "gymnast's legs". They're muscly, well defined (when standing with legs together, small diamond gap between knees)- but they're borderline stocky. I wouldn't call myself fat at all, but you get the point. I'm also fairly petite, barely over 5ft, so my height combined with my semi-chunky legs make me appear wider and shorter to most.

Is there a trick with appearing taller? I prefer trousers and jeans to leggings and tights - they're just too much of a second skin for my liking. What are some clothes I could wear to help give the illusion of slimmer legs?

EDIT: Winter's coming up in Australia, so keep that in mind please!

Also, when looking for pants/jeans, I often have to look for larger sizing to accommodate my muscles - this means the waist will gape, plus there's the issue of the actual trouser length being too long. It's a pain to have to roll the cuffs up every time, and I'm not in a position to have them altered. This also means that I can't buy jeans online; I have to try every pair of pants I own before buying them. Are there any jeans made specifically for girls like me? Any perfect fits that you'd like to share? Any tips would be appreciated.

I would very much like to keep on dancing, so being lazy in order to lose that muscle isn't really something I'd like to do. :/

Thank you! :) Please input, even if you aren't quite in the same situation as I am

Post subject: Re: Help! Dancer's legs.
PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2012 12:26 pm 

I feel your pain! lol